Annexation Committee

General Committee Structure
Each committee shall consist of three members of the Council (unless otherwise dictated by the Charter or Codified Ordinances). Committee members shall be appointed by the Mayor, with the concurrence of the City Council, at the first regular meeting of the Council following any regular City election or as soon thereafter as is practicable. The Mayor should strive to include as many City Councilmembers as possible across the committees and to appoint a different City Councilmember to Chair each committee. The Chair of each committee shall be responsible to the Council for the function of the committee. The Mayor and other Councilmembers are welcome to attend and participate in the meetings of any committee. The City Manager or designee shall attend all committee meetings, unless excused. Two committees may meet together in joint session when topics cross the scope of both committees. 

Annexation Committee Purpose:
Once the Planning Director deems an application for annexation is complete, the Mayor shall appoint a Committee composed of not less than three of the elected members of the City Council and one member of the City Planning Commission to investigate the possibility of annexation. Not later than ninety (90) days following referral by the City Council, the Committee shall submit a written report containing its findings and conclusions to the Mayor and City Council of Milford. The report so submitted shall include the advantages and disadvantages of the proposed annexation, both to the City of Milford and to the territory proposed to be annexed, and shall contain the recommendation of the Committee whether or not to proceed with the proposed annexation and the reasons therefore.


Meetings are held as needed in the Joseph Ronnie Rogers Council Chambers of Milford City Hall:
201 S. Walnut St.
Milford, DE 19963

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to committee meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Agenda packets are also available before meetings.
Most Recent Agenda Packet | View All

Minutes are available after approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

  • Katrina Wilson, Chairwoman
  • Archie Campbell
  • Douglas Morrow